The term Glutard

Not too long after I was diagnosed someone said to me ‘Oh you’re a Glutard’. I gave them what could only be described as ‘huh?’ or ‘what are YOU on about?’. They swiftly added, ‘Its a nickname for people with Coeliac disease’. I wasn’t 100% sure at the time whether it was an insult or an endearing term so decided I would take it and twist it into something fun and friendly.

According to the Urban Dictionary, the term Glutard refers to:

One who does not possess the enzymes necessary to digest gluten, a main ingredient in wheat products. One who is “glutarded” must only eat gluten-free foods, such as water, tofu, and air.
“Hey, do you want some pasta for dinner?”
“No, sorry, I’m a glutard.”
“…what does that mean?”
“It means… I’m glutarded.”
“Oh. Okay.”
So they don’t have everything included but at least they recognise that we can’t eat wheat which is a good start! I have started to use it a little myself, and you will find it in at least one or two of my posts so far.
For anyone who wants to embrace the term, you can do as little as using it, or go as far as getting the t-shirt or the mug (from the Urban Dictionary link above)! Get involved, cause ‘Yo, I’m a Glutard!’
Proud of it!
IMG_5317
G.E.B.
One thought on “The term Glutard

  1. I find the word ‘glutard’ offensive. Why on earth would you use a word that is derived from ‘retard’? Please explain how this is acceptable or humorous?

Leave a Reply

