Politeness mixed with Chinese Culture – a recipe for disaster

Last night CUHK hosted a welcome banquet for all the exchange students. 11 courses of preset food. Sounds amazing? Well that wasn’t quite the outcome…

Despite the fact the school knew of my allergy it didn’t seem to translate to the restaurant and they constantly put questionable things on my plate. I tried to put the gluteny-looking stuff to the side but on the small plates it was all just being contaminated and I knew the night wasn’t going to end well. Whilst it had occurred to me to say no, I had been told that to not offend you should say yes and then just leave it, so that’s what I did. Yet even then, only so much can be on your plate before you have to eat some of it. Some of the dishes were delicious, some cute, and some just plain weird looking!

A particularly worrying item on the menu was ‘marshmallow rabbit’. We read this and got quite fearful of what we were going to have to eat. This is what came:

20130831-093131.jpg

A cute rabbit shaped marshmallow. We breathed a sigh of relief and gobbled the laser-eyed treats!

Despite all my attempts, I found my plans to head out swiftly ending and instead retreated back to college, my bed and the bathroom.

Lets hope for more luck in the future!

3 thoughts on “Politeness mixed with Chinese Culture – a recipe for disaster

Leave a Reply

